Dr Crokes (@1.2) vs Rathmore (@4.5)

Our Prediction:

Dr Crokes will win

Dr Crokes – Rathmore Match Prediction | 23-09-2019 10:30

In the past 20 years two new playing complexes have been acquired and developed by the club at Deerpark and Lewis Road to cater for the ever increasing number of members. In 1936 Fitzgerald Stadium was built by the club members in memory of Dr Croke and Kerry legend Dick Fitzgerald. Dr Croke's has owned four playing fields; the first being the Cricket Field, Flesk Bridge, which was used up to the 1930s.

Maybe no great success in winning for a few years after, but this time the standard was held, and entering the 1980s with a youth policy in place for some years, everyone had hopes for a repeat of the early glory years this time they were not disappointed. In the 1950s becoming once again the dominant team in East Kerry, winning ten O'Donoghue Cups in another fifteen year spell, but unfortunately failing in the final stages of the Kerry Senior Football Championship.

Pictured at Austin Park Tralee last Friday for the launch of Garveys Supervalu sponsorship of the 2016 Kerry GAA Senior Football and Hurling County Championships were in centre Jim Garvey with club players from left, Padraig Reidy (St Kierans), Dara Roche (East Kerry), Paul McMahon (St Brendans) Danny OSullivan (Kerins ORahillys), Wayne Guthrie (Austin Stacks) , George OKeeffe (Rathmore), David Roche (Milltown-Castlemaine), Cathal Bambury (Dingle) , Johnny Buckley (Dr Crokes) and Donnchadh Walsh (Mid Kerry).

Cl Camps

After winning the 1978 decider between the sides, on no less than seven different occasions they lost to the Killarney side in East Kerry's senior decider, six in the last 14 years making the hurt all the more understandable for someone like Aidan O'Mahony who lost all six and a couple more. With their 2014 success (against Legion) in the competition though you always felt a corner had been turned by the club and that should they every find themselves facing Crokes again in a decider they were in their best position to possibly beat them on the big day.

With only minutes remaining and a battling Rathmore team down three points, the outstanding Darragh Rahilly set off on solo run from his own 45-yard line, passing several players en route to laying off the ball to full forward Tomas Houlihan who finished the sliothar low and hard to the Dr Crokes goalkeepers right.

Subs: Eoin Brosnan (0-1) for David O'Leary, Brian Looney for Casey, PJ Lawlor for O'Sullivan, Gavin O'Shea for T Brosnan, Mike Milner for Buckley. Dr Crokes: Shane Murphy, Luke Quinn, Michael Moloney, Fionn Fitzgerald (0-1), Gavin White, Alan O'Sullivan, David O'Leary, Ambrose O'Donovan, Johnny Buckley, Daithi Casey (0-1f), Michel Burns (0-3), Jordan Kiely (0-4, 3f), Colm Cooper (0-2f), Kieran O'Leary (0-1), Tony Brosnan.

Another notable club member of that time is Eugene O'Sullivan, a nationalist MP, who became chairman of the Kerry county board, and it was during his tenure that Kerry won four more of its 36 All-Ireland titles at senior football level. Many members were involved in politics and a lot of them ended up in English prisons. Dr Croke's was founded in 1886. One of the first notable players was Dick Fitzgerald who was a huge part of the team that brought the first All-Ireland title to the Kingdom in 1903.

Hurling by Tommy OConnor

Patrick's Day 1992. Everything seemed to come right in the centennial (1986), when the Dr Crokes were again performing against the best and winning Kerry Intermediate Football Championship, County Club Championship, County League, a setback again in two County Finals, but eventually going on to become Kerry Senior Football Championship winners, Munster Senior Club Football Championship winners on two occasions, and then the ultimate prize the All-Ireland Senior Club Football Championship, won in Croke Park on St.

We however landed three points to our opponents one to give us a four point win at the final whistle. Rathmore came out at the start of the second half meaning business. They sent over two points without reply to reduce their deficit to six points. Points by Kieran O'Leary and Daithi Casey on either side of a Rathmore point extended our lead to seven points after 40 minutes. There was a lot of up and down play in these remaining ten minutes. Rathmore struck back with a goal and two points without reply to reduce our lead to two points with ten minutes to ply.

Mark Reen and Eoin Lawlor combined for John Moynihan to steal through the Crokes defence for their first goal and a deficit of only one point. Shane Ryan's big physical frame was becoming a big problem for the Crokes defence in the full-forward line and they found themselves trailing by 1-8 to 0-8 at half-time. Two minutes later came the moment Rathmore got the wind behind their sails.

Early on last Sunday, it didn't appear to be working though. However while Crokes saw off challenges from across the province, Rathmore lay in wait and observed the success with which they were seeing off sides and devising a way to counteract it. It still looked hard in advance, a rejuvenated Crokes off the back of County and Munster success appeared to be back to dominance of all that crossed before them. Crokes' decision to hand starts to Jordan Kiely and Micheal Burns proving justified with their ability to find scores.

Congratulations Dr. Crokes

That left St Brendans vying with Rathmore for top spot. Dara Rahilly was the star of the show, blasting home two early goals from midfield, with Fionn Houlihan (two), James Darmody (two) and Eoin Fitzgerald all on target as well and Tomas Houlihan finishing the half with another goal. St Brendans had star performers in captain David Ryle, Dara Hogan, and Lorcan Ryan, but there has been an awful lot of hard work put into hurling in Rathmore and they reversed their league defeat to the same opposition in superb style. St Brendans did fight back hard in the second half, but Rathmore topped the group after a stupendous display.

He also stated that the Club captain John Langford was one of the committee members at the inaugural meeting of the Kerry county board and that the Club lost the first Kerry County final to Laune Rangers, in what all agreed was the finest match ever witnessed. Fr Tom Looney, writing of the Club's early years, said that the senior team had played tournaments and challenges before the County Board was formed.